‘Avengers: Infinity War’: Who Has the Infinity Stones?

Thanos clencing his fist, wearing a gauntlet with stones in place in each knuckle

Thanos with the Infinity Stones | Marvel

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has been united by a single story thread since the very beginning: the Infinity Stones. Almost each one has gradually made an appearance, beginning all the back in Phase 1 of the franchise. All that will come to a head in 2018’s Avengers: Infinity Warbut in the meantime, we’re left wondering where each stone is now, and how they’ll eventually end up in the hands of Thanos.

First, a little background. Known as the Infinity Gems in the comics, there are six stones total. They each carry a unique, special property. Some can destroy entire worlds in the blink of an eye. Others can alter the fabric of reality itself. United together and mounted in the Infinity Gauntlet, they give their owner godlike abilities. So where in the MCU are they now? Here’s what we know.

1. The Space Stone

Seen in: Captain America, The Avengers

Thor holding the Tesseract in a glowing blue case

The Tesseract | Marvel

Better known in the MCU as the Tesseract, we first saw the Space Stone appear as the MacGuffin in the first Captain America. It was used by Red Skull to forge an arsenal of powerful guns and explosives for Hydra. After sinking to the bottom of the ocean, the Agents of SHIELD dug it up, and began studying it themselves in order to construct their own arsenal. Loki then used it as a portal to help the Chitauri invade New York City in The Avengers, before it ended up in Odin’s vault on Asgard, where it remains to this day.

The Space Stone is most known for enabling its user to travel great distances through space, through either portals or teleportation.