5 NBA Franchises With the Longest Title Droughts

Of all the major sports, you could make the argument that the NBA has the least amount of parity among its greatest teams over the years. Since 1984 (a stretch of 32 seasons), only 10 NBA franchises have won a championship — that’s just a third of the league — while the other two-thirds sit on the outside looking in. While this could have something to do with the way stars can move freely via free agency, there are certainly a lot of factors involved. Here are the five NBA franchises with the longest title droughts.

1. Los Angeles Clippers, 46 years

5 NBA Franchises With the Longest Title Droughts

Norm Nixon of the Los Angeles Clippers dribbles the ball during a game in 1989. | Stephen Dunn/NBAE/Getty Images

The Los Angeles Clippers have been in existence since the 197071 season, originally as the Buffalo Braves. They moved to San Diego and became the Clippers in 1978–79, and then they transitioned to Los Angeles in 1984–85. Not only have they not won a single NBA championship (a span of 46 seasons), but they haven’t came particularly close.

From the time the Clippers moved to Los Angeles until the 2010–11 season, Los Angeles made the postseason just four times and won just a single postseason series. Their run has been marred by shoddy ownership, poor management, and the inability to attract star players even within their own city. The good news for the Clippers is that things have been better lately, with five consecutive trips to the postseason and three playoff series won in those five years — but still, no championships.