Can You Watch the 2019 Emmys Online?

The 71st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will be held on Sunday, September 22nd at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, and the ceremony honoring the best shows and performances on television in the past year will be broadcast on the Fox network. But, what if you’re not near a TV on the industry’s biggest night? Can you watch the 2019 Emmys online?

2019 Emmys online
The Emmy Awards | Photo by Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images)

From the red carpet to the after-parties

As they have done for more than two decades, the E! Network will kick off their 2019 Emmy coverage with their Countdown to the Red Carpet show that begins at 4:30 PM Eastern (3:30 PM Central, 1:30 PM on the West Coast).

The entertainment cable network will also feature interviews with televisions’ biggest stars as they arrive at the Microsoft Theater starting at 6:00 PM Eastern Standard Time (5:00 PM Central, 3:00 PM Pacific) on Live From The Red Carpet.

After the 2019 Emmys air on Fox starting at 8 PM Eastern (7 PM Central, 5 PM Pacific), the network’s After Party: The 2019 Emmy Awards will wrap up the evening at 11 PM Eastern.

If you can’t watch all of the stars walk the red carpet in their designer gowns and tuxedos on television, then you can download the E! app to see all of their Emmy coverage with hosts Giuliana Rancic and Jason Kennedy. Nightly Pop hosts Morgan Stewart, Nina Parker, and Hunter March and The Rundown host Erin Lim will host the After Party.

For the actual Emmy broadcast, cable subscribers can watch the ceremony online via Fox.com or on the FOX NOW app. And, for those who have already cut the cord, streaming services like YouTube TV, Hulu with Live TV, DirecTV Now, fuboTV, SlingTV, and PlayStation Vue will also give you access to the live ceremony.

Do you have your ballot filled out?

If you want to really geek out (like me) on all things Emmys this year, the best printable Emmy ballot for the major categories comes from Vanity Fair. I’ve filled out two already – one for who I think should win, and one for who I believe will actually win.

The 2019 Emmys might end up being a four-hour promotion for HBO programming, and one of the most hotly debated topics going into the ceremony is about the Outstanding Drama Series category.

While many are certain that Game of Thrones is a lock to win the trophy in its eighth and final season, others think that a newcomer like HBO’s Succession or BBC America’s Killing Eve might spoil the HBO series’ farewell. Or, maybe AMC’s Better Call Saul might finally get the recognition it deserves.

Game of Thrones scored a whopping 32 nominations this year, and it already won 10 Emmys at the Creative Arts Emmys ceremony. The show is well on its way to breaking the record of 13 wins by one show in a single year, which is currently held by HBO’s John Adams.

In addition to GoT, HBO has two serious contenders in the Outstanding Comedy Series category at the 2019 Emmys – Barry and Veep. And, the premium cable channel is also expected to dominate the limited series category with Chernobyl.

The acting categories are extremely competitive

An absolute guarantee in most people’s minds is that Julia Louis-Dreyfus will take home her seventh straight Emmy for the role of Selina Meyer in Veep. However, she does have some serious competition in the category at the 2019 Emmys, including last year’s winner Rachel Brosnahan from The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel.

Also nominated is comedy legend Catherine O’Hara from the cult comedy Schitt’s Creek, Natasha Lyonne from Russian Doll, Christina Applegate from Dead To Me, and Phoebe Waller-Bridge from Fleabag.

The Lead Actress in a Drama Series category is loaded with talent – Sandra Oh (Killing Eve), Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones), Viola Davis (How To Get Away With Murder), Jodie Comer (Killing Eve), Laura Linney (Ozark), Robin Wright (House of Cards), and Mandy Moore (This Is Us).

The buzz is that the 2019 Emmy will go to Sandra Oh. And. if she does win, she will be the first Asian-American to win the category.

On the men’s side, this could finally be the year for the stars of Better Call Saul. Bob Odenkirk is the favorite in the Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series category for his work as Jimmy McGill, AKA Saul Goodman. And, in the Supporting Actor category, this will hopefully be Johnathan Banks’ year to win for the role of Mike Ehrmantraut.

There are so many great races in different categories this year, it’s going to be an amazing night for television.

Catch the 2019 Emmys either online or on Fox.