Emmys 2018: 10 People Who Were Nominated Last Time But Were Left Out This Year

The 2018 Emmy nominations have arrived, and as usual, the conversation is mainly revolving around all of the snubs. There are a handful of actors who were thought to be strong contenders for nominations but who failed to receive recognition, including Freddie Highmore, Kyle MacLachlan, and Mandy Moore.

But some of these were stretches to begin with. What’s even more notable is when an actor has been consistently nominated in the past, but they’re suddenly left out, and this year, that happened to a number of people. Let’s take a look at some of those celebrities who were nominated for Emmys the last time they were eligible but didn’t make the cut this year.

Bill Maher

Real Time with Bill Maher

Real Time with Bill Maher | HBO

Bill Maher’s late-night talk show, Real Time with Bill Maher, has been nominated in Outstanding Variety Talk Series nearly every single year since 2004. He was left out in 2015, but that mostly seemed to be because David Letterman got a nomination for his final season of The Late Show. Maher ended up back in the category in 2016 and 2017, but he was left off in 2018 for only the second time in 14 years.

The nominees in the category of Outstanding Variety Talk Series were the exact same as last year, but The Daily Show with Trevor Noah now takes Maher’s place. The other nominees are Full Frontal with Samantha Bee, Jimmy Kimmel Live!Last Week Tonight with John OliverThe Late Late Show with James Corden, and The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.

Emilia Clarke, Chrissy Metz, and Uzo Aduba

Emilia Clarke in Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones | Source: HBO

Game of Thrones wasn’t eligible at last year’s Emmys, so Emilia Clarke wasn’t up then. However, she was nominated for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series the last time she was eligible. That was her third time being nominated in that category.

Chrissy Metz and Uzo Aduba were also both nominated in this category last year. But all three of these women were left out in 2018. HBO had actually submitted Clarke in the category of Lead Actress in a Drama Series this time, which clearly backfired.

The nominees for supporting actress this year are Alexis Bledel (The Handmaid’s Tale), Millie Bobby Brown (Stranger Things), Ann Dowd (The Handmaid’s Tale), Lena Headey (Game of Thrones), Vanessa Kirby (The Crown), Thandie Newton (Westworld), and Yvonne Strahovski (The Handmaid’s Tale). Millie Bobby Brown joins the category after being eligible but not nominated last time, while Bledel joins after previously being considered a guest actress.

In the lead actress category, the women who were nominated instead of Clarke were Claire Foy (The Crown), Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black), Elisabeth Moss (The Handmaid’s Tale), Sandra Oh (Killing Eve), Keri Russell (The Americans), and Evan Rachel Wood (Westworld).

Kit Harington and Liev Schreiber

Game of Thrones | HBO

Another Game of Thrones star to be snubbed despite being nominated last time was Kit Harington. In 2016, the last time Thrones was eligible, he was up for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series.

However, this year, he didn’t make the cut. Once again, HBO had submitted Harington as a lead actor, and he failed to get a nomination in this category.

The lead actor nominees this year are Jason Bateman (Ozark), Sterling K. Brown (This Is Us), Ed Harris (Westworld), Matthew Rhys (The Americans), Milo Ventimiglia (This Is Us), and Jeffrey Wright (Westworld). Harris was not nominated last time despite being eligible; Wright was nominated last time, but as a supporting actor. Bateman is new to the category, as his show was not up for an Emmy last time. Brown, Rhys, and Ventimiglia are repeat nominees.

You may have noticed someone else missing from that list: Liev Schreiber. He had been nominated for Ray Donovan for the past three years but didn’t get a nod this time.

Ellie Kemper and Jane Fonda

Kimmy is in a yellow jacket and is holding a dog.

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt | Netflix

Ellie Kemper made it into the category of Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series last time for her work on Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. That Netflix series was nominated for Outstanding Comedy Series this year, but Kemper was snubbed. Jane Fonda was also left out despite being up last year, although her Grace and Frankie co-star, Lily Tomlin, got nominated again.

The nominees are instead Pamela Adlon (Better Things), Rachel Brosnahan (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Allison Janney (Mom), Issa Rae (Insecure), Tracee Ellis Ross (Blackish), and Lily Tomlin (Grace and Frankie). Adlon, Janney, Ross, and Tomlin were there last time, but Rae and Brosnahan are new.

Ty Burrell

Modern Family | ABC

Modern Family used to win the most Emmy awards of any comedy each year, but that has changed. Still, over the past few years, it has consistently been up for Oustanding Comedy Series, and Ty Burrell has consistently been up for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series. He has been booted from the category this year, though, meaning Modern Family has zero major nominations for the first time in its history.

The category now consists of Louie Anderson (Baskets), Alec Baldwin (Saturday Night Live), Tituss Burgess (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt), Brian Tyree Henry (Atlanta), Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Kenan Thompson (Saturday Night Live), and Henry Winkler (Barry). Anderson, Baldwin, and Burgess are repeats, while Henry, Shalhoub, Thompson, and Winkler are new.

Zach Galifianakis


Baskets | FX

Zach Galifianakis was recognized in the category of Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series last year for Baskets, but he failed to earn a nomination this time.

Instead, the nominees are Anthony Anderson (Blackish), Ted Danson (The Good Place), Larry David (Curb Your Enthusiasm), Donald Glover (Atlanta), Bill Hader (Barry), and William H. Macy (Showtime). Anderson, Glover, and Macy were up last time, but Danson, David and Hader are new, having not previously been eligible.

However, Galifianakis’ Baskets co-star, Louie Anderson, did receive a nomination once again for his supporting work.