Which Film Won the MTV Movie & TV Award for ‘Movie of the Year?’

This year has been a good year for movies. Jordan Peele created his horror flick, Us. Noah Centineo took the internet by storm in To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. Marvel premiered the sequel to Avengers: Infinity War, entitled Avengers: Endgame. Find out which film won the MTV Movie & Television Award for ‘Movie of the Year,’ here.

Avengers: Endgame
Anthony Russo accepts the Best Movie award for ‘Avengers: Endgame’ | Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images for MTV

The MTV Awards took place in June 2019

There were five films nominated for “Best Movie” at the 2019 MTV Movie & TV Awards, including Us, BlacKkKlansman, Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and Avengers: Endgame. Marvel’s Avengers: Endgame won the award for “Best Movie.”

During his acceptance speech, Anthony Russo, one of the Russo Brothers who created Avengers: Endgame, thanked the man who created the Marvel Universe.

“A movie like this one is only possible because it’s been built on the shoulders of so much great work and so many talented artists and storytellers stretching back decades and generations now,” Anthony Russo said, “all the way back to its origins with the late, great Stan Lee.”

Robert Downey Jr.
Robert Downey Jr. | Photo by Allen Berezovsky/WireImage

This isn’t the only award ‘Avengers: Endgame’ won

This year, Avengers: Endgame actors earned their own awards. The award for “Best Hero” went to Robert Downey Jr., for his portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man. The award for “Best Villain” went to Josh Brolin, for his portrayal of Thanos.

This isn’t the first MTV Award the Avengers took home. In 2013, the original six won the MTV Award for “Best Fight,” between the Avengers and Tom Hiddleston’s character, Loki. That same year, Tom Hiddleston won the award for “Best Villain” for his portrayal of Loki. Also in 2013, The Avengers won the MTV Award for “Best Movie.”

Chris Hemsworth, Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Robert Downey Jr., and Chris Evans | Photo by Allen Berezovsky/WireImage

Who else won awards?

Captain Marvel, another Marvel movie released in 2019, was nominated for multiple awards. Brie Larson and Gemma Chan won the award for “Best Fight” for Captain Marvel’s fight with Minn-Erva.

She beat out Chris Evans for this award, as he was nominated for Captain America’s fight with Thanos in Avengers: Endgame. During her acceptance speech, Brie Larson brought up two women who acted as her stunt doubles and her trainers for the film.

“I could not have made this film without them. They are really the baseline of who she is,” Larson said. “They are the living embodiment of Captain Marvel.”

“Joanna and I actually grew up together,” Renae Moneymaker said during her speech. “As young girls, we wanted to be just like Lara Croft and G.I. Jane, so it’s a real honor to be a part of this character and hopefully pass along some of that inspiration and strength that those iconic women brought to us.”

Brie Larson was also nominated for “Best Hero,” for her portrayal of Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel. Robert Downey Jr. won that category for his portrayal of Tony Stark.

Other winners of the night include Lady Gaga as Ally in A Star is Born. She won the award for “Best Performance in a Movie.” Elisabeth Moss, who plays June Osborne/Offred on the show The Handmaid’s Tale, won the award for “Best Performance in a Show.”