No One Cares About the Daytime Emmys

Source: Thinkstock

Source: Thinkstock

The 41st Annual Daytime Emmys on Sunday were a disaster on multiple levels as the awards ceremony failed to find a network to broadcast it, causing the show to default to streaming online and thus losing the older demographic that makes up the majority of the audience of the shows the Daytime Emmys honor, as well as the respect of any of the ‘celebrities’ who actually bothered to show up. While both the ceremony itself and the red carpet coverage beforehand were a hilarious train wreck for those that did tune in, those who actually wanted to take being honored for their career accomplishments seriously were in for a disappointment.

Kathy Griffin, who famously caused controversy by saying “Suck it, Jesus” in an acceptance speech for her own Daytime Emmy win back in 2007, was invited to host the ceremony and told the audience that she was doing the job for free. It later became apparent that the chance to host the Daytime Emmys out from under the thumb of the FCC was basically a dream come true for the comedian, who spent the evening cracking her signature obscenity filled jokes about everyone present, according to Deadline.

Griffin’s opening monologue included a bit about her experience sitting at the same table as Dr. Drew, Kris Jenner, and Bethenny Frankel at last year’s ceremony, as well as an incident in which both Dr. Drew and Dr. Oz were sent to revive a starlet who drank until she could no longer stand and passed out in the bathroom. There were also plenty of obscenities from many who graced the stage — including Sharon Osborne who advised those present to have sex with the people they work with — as there was no worry about getting punished by the FCC or other upholders of common decency.

As for the winners, Days of Our Lives and The Young and the Restless were the most-awarded dramas. The Young and the Restless won six of the awards, including outstanding drama series; best “Special Class Special” for a special episode dedicated to the late actress Jeanne Cooper, who acted on the show for 40 years; lead actor in a drama for Billy Miller; younger actress in a drama for Hunter King; supporting actress in a drama for Amelia Henle; and best drama writing team. Days of Our Lives nabbed trophies for its actors Eric Martsolf, Chandler Massey, and Eileen Davidson.

Steve Harvey won best game show host for Family Feud and best talk show for Steve Harvey, but was on vacation in Bali and so didn’t have to attend the bizarre awards show. Other notable winners that didn’t show up to accept their trophies included Dr. Oz, Katie Couric, and Ellen Degeneres.

The Daytime Emmy ceremony this year exhibited how broadcast television is attempting to be forward-thinking and adapt to the way that Internet has changed the television landscape. Unfortunately, the audience that watches daytime television hasn’t quite caught up to those changes yet either, so it’s uncertain who was actually reached by Sunday night’s livestream. The ceremony’s attendees certainly made it clear that they didn’t have to behave because no one was watching.

More From Wall St. Cheat Sheet:

Follow Jacqueline on Twitter @Jacqui_WSCS