What’s the Order of the ‘Game of Thrones’ Books?

George R.R. Martin is responsible for creating the world people see in the HBO TV series, Game of Thrones. HBO bought the rights to Martin’s book series, A Song of Ice and Fire, in 2007, making the books and the subsequent TV show a cultural phenomenon.

What’s the order of the ‘Game of Thrones’ Books?

Below is the order of Martin’s books in the A Song of Ice and Fire series

A Game of Thrones (Book 1)

  • Published 1996

A Clash of Kings (Book 2)

  • Published 1999

A Storm of Swords (Book 3)

  • Published 2000

A Feast for Crows (Book 4)

  • Published 2005

A Dance with Dragons (Book 5)

  • Published 2011

Martin has two yet to be published books in the works to add to the series, according to his website. The next two installments in the series will be The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring.

Martin’s behind on writing ‘The Winds of Winter’

In 2011, Martin projected that the sixth book in the A Song of Ice and Fire series would be released in about three years, putting the release date sometime in 2014, according to The Washington Post.

The Winds of Winter has yet to be finished but no one is more broken up about it than the author himself. “I know there are a lot of people out there who are very angry with me that ‘Winds of Winter’ isn’t finished,” Martin told Entertainment Weekly in Nov. 2018.

George R. R. Martin
George R. R. Martin | ANGELA WEISS/AFP/Getty Images

“And I’m mad about that myself. I wished I finished it four years ago. I wished it was finished now. But it’s not. And I’ve had dark nights of the soul where I’ve pounded my head against the keyboard and said, ‘God, will I ever finish this? The show is going further and further forward and I’m falling further and further behind. What the hell is happening here?’”

Author on book delay: ‘Everyone bothers me every day’

Why the delay in The Winds of Winter? “It’s distraction,” Martin said at the Santa Fe Independent Film Festival in 2014.

“Because the books and the show are so popular, I have interviews to do constantly. I have travel plans constantly,” Martin said. “It’s like suddenly I get invited to travel to South Africa or Dubai, and who’s passing up a free trip to Dubai?”

George R.R. Martin signing books.
George R.R. Martin signs copies of his new book, “A Dance With Dragons,” on March 13, 2012, in Toronto, Canada. | Clinton Gilders/FilmMagic

He added that he can only write in the comfort of his own home. “I don’t write when I travel. I don’t write in hotel rooms. I don’t write on airplanes. I really have to be in my own house undisturbed to write. Through most of my life nobody did bother me, but now everyone bothers me every day. I have assistants and minions whose main job is to make sure people don’t bother me so I can actually get writing done.”

When did George R. R. Martin begin writing the ‘Game of Thrones’ book series?

The author began writing the books in the early 1990s. A Game of Thrones, the first book in the series, hit bookstores (remember those?) in 1996.

Until the latest book in the series is released, fans will have to be satisfied with watching (or re-watching) the TV series or reading Martin’s latest book, Fire and Blood, a history of the Targaryen dynasty.