Selena Gomez Reveals New Album Name, Track Titles, & Featured Artists

It’s a great day to be a Selenator. Selena Gomez has finally released the name of her new album. After a four-year-long hiatus since her last album, Revival, released, fans have been waiting on bated breath for new music from the artist. Gomez kept her fans fed when she released back to back singles from the new album back in October, but Selenators were instantly hungry for more. Now, Gomez has finally released the name of the album alongside album artwork and track titles.

Selena Gomez promotes new album Rare at the AMAs
Selena Gomez | Photo by Taylor Hill/FilmMagic

Release Date

Even though Gomez’s first two singles have been out for months, Selenators will have to wait until the new year for the new album. Fortunately for them, Gomez’s new album is just a little over a month away. On November 21, 2019, the “Survivors” artist took to her Instagram page to share the release date. She also revealed that the album was deeply personal and a glimpse into her life over the last few years. “You can now preorder my new album, out January 10, 2020. This album is my diary from the past few years and I can’t wait for you to hear it. Title, art, and tracklist coming soon,” the 27-year-old promised her fans.

Selena Gomez reveals new album name

On December 12, 2019, Gomez finally revealed the name of her highly anticipated album, previously referred to as SG2. Like her previous album, the new album is a simple word that can encompass many feelings. Taking to her Instagram page, the Wizards of Waverly Place alum revealed that the new album is called Rare. She also reiterated how personal the music is, revealing that she’s never been so vulnerable in her singing or songwriting.

View this post on Instagram

Something exciting is coming tomorrow. ✨

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

‪”Can’t believe I’m revealing the art and title for my new album RARE, out January 10th. It’s the most honest music I’ve ever made and I can’t wait for you to hear my heart. 🖤 You can preorder RARE now,” the “Lose You To Love Me” singer added.

Track titles and featured artists

But, Gomez didn’t just reveal the name of her new album. She also shared the track titles via an extended trailer which she posted to her YouTube page. Though the official tracklist has not yet been released, the Revival artist did reveal that “Look At Her Now” is the third track on Rare while “Lose You To Love Me” sits right behind it as the fourth track.

In addition to the previously released singles, Rare will feature the following songs: “Rare” (which is the title track), “Dance Again”, “Ring”, “Vulnerable”, “People You Know”, “Let Me Get Me”, “Crowded Feat. 6Lack”, “Kinda Crazy”, “Fun”, “Cut You Off”, and “A Sweeter Place Feat. Kid Cudi”.

Overall sound

Clearly Gomez will be exploring new genres of music in this new album given the artists she chose to collaborate with. 6lack is both a singer and rapper from Atlanta Georgia, and Kid Cudi is a very well-known and respected singer and rapper from Cleveland, Ohio. Some of Gomez’s most popular songs have come from unexpected collaborations. A good example of this would be her song “Good For You Feat. ASAP Rocky”.


Gomez has also shared that she would describe a lot of the songs on Rare as soulful pop. “I think there’s always going to be a sense of strong pop in my music, but I definitely explored more with electric guitar, a lot of more soulful tracks underneath things, acoustic guitar. It all kind of hits different places that I feel like is my lane for music. It just hit in that world. It’s mellow.” the 27-year-old shared on The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon. We’re excited to hear what Gomez has been up to throughout the last few years. Rare is available for pre-order now and releases January 10, 2020.