The Black Keys Will ‘Turn Blue’ on May 13

Alternative bluesy rock duo the Black Keys have announced their new album, Turn Blue, which is set to be released May 13, and unveiled the record’s first single, “Fever,” on Monday. The album was produced by the band and frequent collaborator Danger Mouse. “Fever” retains the group’s signature blues feel and Dan Auerbach’s distinctive vocals but has a more dancy and psychedelic sound than their previous work.

The new album was announced via a tweet from former boxer Mike Tyson for reasons no one has quite figured out, accompanied by a bizarre teaser clip featuring a creepy hypnotist claiming to have taken control of the viewer’s mind. Two more shorter clips featuring the hypnotist were also posted to YouTube.

In a press release seen by Rolling Stone, the band offered some explanations for the album title: “Suffocation, sadness, numbness from extreme cold, a Cleveland late night TV host from the 1960s named Ghoulardi (who might have inspired the man in the teaser clips) — or all of the above.”

“We are always trying to push ourselves when we make a record — not repeat our previous work but not abandon it either,” drummer Patrick Carney said in the release. “On this record, we let the songs breathe and explored moods, textures and sounds. We’re excited for the world to hear Turn Blue.” Carney has been posting pictures of blue people and things on his Instagram in advance of the album’s announcement.

The Black Keys’ last album, El Camino, came out three years ago to much critical acclaim and a number of Grammy wins, so the followup has been highly anticipated.

If you want to catch the Keys in the U.S., then you’ll have to head to the Hangout Festival in Gulf Shores, Alabama, on the weekend of May 16, as the rest of the group’s tour dates for the summer are in Europe. Those dates include a stop at Glastonbury.

The Ohio natives relocated to Nashville, Tennessee, several years ago, where Auerbach has also set up a recording studio. It was revealed in February that Auerbach is producing Lana del Rey’s sophomore album, Ultraviolence, when del Rey posted a photo of the two of them on Twitter. The collaboration is unexpected to say the least, but although questions still linger about whether she’s actually talented, Auerbach’s involvement is an interesting development that could lead to a solid second record from the singer.

Turn Blue track listing:

  1. “Weight of Love”
  2. “In Time”
  3. “Turn Blue”
  4. “Fever”
  5. “Year in Review”
  6. “Bullet in the Brain”
  7. “It’s Up to You Now”
  8. “Waiting on Words”
  9. “10 Lovers”
  10. “In Our Prime”
  11. “Gotta Get Away”

More From Wall St. Cheat Sheet:

Follow Jacqueline on Twitter @Jacqui_WSCS