The Cast of ‘Veep’ Will Be Presenting at the Emmys Together After the Show’s Finale

Multiple shows aired their last season this year. Game of Thrones got a lot of attention with its controversial ending. However, Veep also ended with its final season.

This year’s Emmy Award show will have the Veep cast present together. Find out who all will be there and who might take home an award.

‘Veep’ ended after seven seasons

Tony Hale, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Kevin Dunn, Gary Cole in 'Veep'
Tony Hale, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Kevin Dunn, Gary Cole in ‘Veep’ | Colleen Hayes/HBO

The show following former Senator Selina Meyer’s (Julia Lous-Dreyfus) political career ended after seven seasons and winning 17 Emmys. This is because producers decided the comedy has run its course.

“The decision to bring Veep to a close at the end of next season is bittersweet,” said Casey Bloys, HBO’s President of Programming. “We love the show and everyone involved but respect the producers’ choice to bring Selina Meyer’s journey to its conclusion after an extraordinary run of critical and award-winning acclaim.”

Louis-Dreyfus talked about what it was like to film the final season. “I was so overcome with joy and grief, a joy and grief mashup, as this show ended, and it was really surprising to me,” she told Entertainment Weekly. “Saying goodbye to it was a very hard thing to do.”

The last season is now being recognized at the Emmy Awards. This is unsurprising given the show’s history.

‘Veep’ is nominated for nine Emmys

The political comedy has dominated at the Emmys throughout its run. This year it was nominated for nine Emmys.

The categories are outstanding comedy series, outstanding sound mixing for a comedy or drama series, outstanding writing for a comedy series, outstanding production design for a narrative program, and outstanding casting for a comedy series.

Louis-Dreyfus is nominated again for lead actress in a comedy series. Anna Chlumsky is nominated for supporting actress in a comedy series. Tony Hale is nominated for supporting actor in a comedy series. Peter MacNicol was nominated for guest actor, but lost.

Louis-Dreyfus has previously won six times for the role. Hale has won twice before this year.

The stars will be presenting together

Anna Chlumsky, Gary Cole, Kevin Dunn, Clea DuVall, Tony Hale, Sam Richardson, Reid Scott, Timothy Simons, Sarah Sutherland, Matt Walsh will be taking the stage to present together during the ceremony.

The show’s star, Julia Louis-Dreyfus will also present. However, it looks like she’ll be doing so alone. This isn’t surprising given the previous announcement of presenters. The cast of Game of Thrones will also be reuniting on the stage to say goodbye to the show.

This year’s award ceremony will be without a host. “You have to look at the trade-off,” Fox Entertainment CEO Charlie Collier said according to Galgary Herald. “If you have a host and an opening number, that’s 15-20 minutes that you don’t have to salute the shows.”

It should be interesting to see what will happen when the cast takes the stage. Viewers are most likely going to be in for a few laughs and see a few acceptance speeches. The 71st Primetime Emmy Awards air Sunday, September 22, on Fox.