How to Delete Your Snapchat Account in 4 Easy Steps

Girl taking a selfie with a smartphone

Social media platforms are a great way to stay connected, but deleting them can be a nuisance | iStock.com/Rohappy

Figuring out how to delete Snapchat can be pretty frustrating — the whole thing seems to be structured like a labyrinth to dissuade a person from quitting the app. You can’t even delete your account in the app itself! For a platform built around temporary posts and media appearing and disappearing for only quick increments of time, it sure seems committed to keeping its users around permanently. But while it might not be obviously transparent, there is a way to do it.

Just as we explained how to delete your Twitter account, we’ve cracked the code on how to delete Snapchat. Here are the four easy steps we recommend you take for giving up the ghost.

1. Log in to the Snapchat accounts website

Screenshot of the Snapchat login page

Deleting your Snapchat account comes with a few steps | Snapchat

As we mentioned, you can’t actually delete your account in the app itself. You can only do it from the accounts Snapchat website. So, first things first, log in to the website!

2. Go to the delete account page

Screenshot of the delete account page on Snapchat

Snapchat will not allow you to delete your account via the actual app | Snapchat

Now that you’ve logged in, navigate to the menu. You’ll see that there’s a specific category at the bottom that will show you how to delete your Snapchat account. The page is pretty straightforward and easy to use.

3. Re-enter your login details

Screenshot of the Snapchat login

You’ll have to log in to your account on the website to complete the Snapchat deactivation process | Snapchat

At this point, a menu should come up on your screen. Re-enter the same username and password that you use for the Snapchat app to confirm your account.

4. You’re deactivated!

Screenshot of the account deactivated confirmation page

Your account will be deactivated in 30 days | Snapchat

After clicking “continue” on the previous screen, your account is marked for deactivation … in 30 days.

It’s quite possible that in the next month, you may forget you even deleted your account, so Snapchat will send you an email confirming this when it happens.

How to delete Snapchat: Alternate method

A screenshot of how to delete Snapchat through the main website's support page

You can also deactivate your account through the support page on Snapchat | Snapchat

Do you need to know another method for deleting Snapchat? If the above approach didn’t work for whatever reason, you can still delete your account through the main site. Follow these steps:

  1. Scroll down to the bottom of the home page.
  2. Select “support” under the “community” column.
  3. Select “my account & settings.”
  4. Select “account information.”
  5. Select “delete my account.”
  6. Click on the link that says “go to this page.”
  7. Once you click on the link, it will take you to the page mentioned in the first method, so simply follow the steps we outlined for you there.

30 days for a second chance

The Snapchat logo

Snapchat can be hard to navigate at first but don’t let that be the only reason you’re deactivating your account | Snapchat

Now that you know how to delete Snapchat, are you sure you still want to? You’ll have 30 days from the the time you deactivate your account for it to actually get removed forever. If you’d like to give it another chance but don’t know your way around the app, don’t press the delete button just yet! Navigating around a new app can certainly be complex, but that shouldn’t prevent you from having an account. Turn to a how-to guide instead to learn how to use key features, and before you know it, you’ll be using it like a pro!

More Articles About:   , , ,