You’ll Be Shocked By How Many of Your Favorite Snack Foods Are Actually Vegan

Many claim they could never be disciplined enough to follow a vegan diet. Finding foods that are cruelty free, but still delicious, can certainly be difficult at times. While more restaurants and grocery stores are providing vegan options, there still may be some foods that make you think, “I could never give that up.”

Here are 10 surprising foods you had no idea were actually vegan.

1. Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Brownie Mix

A box of Ghirardelli brownie mix.

Vegans can enjoy brownies anytime. | Ghirardelli

You may or may not want to know that Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Brownie Mix is, in fact, vegan. Whether you’re baking brownies for a Super Bowl party, a potluck at work, or to enjoy on the couch after date night, vegans and non-vegans alike will be able to enjoy this treat.

2. Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili Tortilla Chips

A bag of Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili.

A fun and savory snack you won’t have to miss out on. | Frito-Lay

While the majority of Doritos contain milk ingredients, the Spicy Sweet Chili flavor just so happens to be sans dairy. If you’re trying to stick to a vegan diet, these chips will definitely satisfy your Dorito craving with a unique flavor. Upon first bite, the sweet flavor is most prominent, but once you wait a bit, the spice kicks in.

Needless to say, they’re admittedly addicting, so it will take serious effort to not eat the whole bag. Make sure to pour one serving size (or about 11 chips) into a bowl and save the rest for later.

3. Betty Crocker Bac-o’s Bacon Flavor Bits

Betty Crocker Bac-o’s Bacon Flavor Bits behind a white background.

A salad topping that’ll add a burst of flavor to any salad. | Betty Crocker

Vegans need toppings, too! Though there are plenty of vegan topping varieties out there, Betty Crocker Bac-o’s Bacon Flavor Bits are shockingly meat-free. If you dare to try these strange bacon-flavored bites, you may want to sprinkle them on your greens or a vegan potato salad.

4. Kraft Creamy Italian Dressing

A bottle of creamy Italian dressing.

Not an ounce of meat or dairy in this ranch. | Kraft

If your product has the word “creamy” in it and it’s not a designated cruelty-free brand, such a Just Mayo, most vegans would walk right by it. Next time you’re at the grocery store, make a trip to the salad dressing aisle. You’ll be shocked to see that Kraft Creamy Italian Dressing is actually vegan! Now you can add it onto your salad, along with your Betty Crocker Bac-o’s Bacon Flavor Bits.

5. Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup

Hershey Syrup bottle behind a white background.

A tasty addition to your fresh cashew milk. | Hershey’s

Most vegans assume that any chocolate they’d actually be able to eat is the darkest of dark chocolate. Even though you won’t find a vegan Hershey’s chocolate bar, Hershey’s has at least left dairy out of their chocolate syrup. If you’re enjoying some Ben & Jerry’s non-dairy pints on ice cream night, you can treat yourself to a little chocolate drizzle on top.

6. Pillsbury Crescent Rolls

A container of Pillsbury Crescent Rolls.

Your vegan guests will love eating one (or five!) of these family favorites. | Pillsbury

There may be nothing more satisfying than a warm Pillsbury Crescent Roll straight out of the oven. Thankfully, vegans will never have to sacrifice this delicacy. Crescent rolls are super versatile, too. Whether you want to try out a fun new recipe or you’d simply prefer spreading some vegan Earth Balance buttery spread on top, the possibilities are endless.

7. Unfrosted Pop-Tarts

A box of Pop-Tarts behind a white background.

These yummy snacks can be enjoyed by vegans. | Walmart

If you’re in the mood for a throwback to childhood, you won’t be left out as a vegan. Though not all Pop-Tarts are dairy-free, the unfrosted flavors are. You have a bit of variety to choose from, including strawberry, blueberry, and brown sugar cinnamon. Whether you prefer your Pop-Tarts toasted or straight out of the wrapping, these flavors are surprisingly delicious — even without frosting.

8. Aunt Jemima Pancake Mix

A box of Aunt Jemima pancake mix.

Make a batch of these for your vegan friends. | Aunt Jemima

For some easy-to-make vegan pancakes, look no further than Aunt Jemima Pancake Mix. The ingredients provided are vegan-friendly, so all you’ll need is some egg replacer and an alternative dairy-free milk. They’re the perfect option for a lazy Sunday morning or holidays with the family.

9. Oreos

Oreos stacked up on a plate.

A basic essential in a vegan’s lifestyle. |

Oreos are probably the most well-known of the “accidentally vegan” foods, but we still can’t get over the fact that they’re dairy-free. This is especially true now that they’ve kicked it up a notch with their flavor variety. From Peeps to s’mores to strawberry shortcake, they seem to know no limits. Oreos are another dangerously addicting vegan snack, so portion control is key.

10. Nabisco Grahams

Graham crackers on a white plate.

Graham crackers are sweet and crunchy. |

If you didn’t know you could still make s’mores around the campfire as a vegan, be prepared for some exciting news. Though most graham crackers contain honey, Nabisco Grahams are 100% vegan. Now, all you need is a bag of Dandies vegan marshmallows, one of the many vegan dark chocolate bar options, a few friends, and some scary stories to tell around the fire pit.

Check out The Cheat Sheet on Facebook!