How To Put Facebook On A Privacy Lockdown

Facebook has made all kinds of privacy changes lately.

It’s made some users uncomfortable and, thanks to a couple poorly-timed screw-ups, Facebook is getting a lot of heat about the changes from Senators, media, and watchdog organizations.

We don’t think any of that will ever cause you to quit Facebook. You love what Facebook does for you too much to quit.

But if you’re going to stay on Facebook, you should definitely know how to keep your information private.

Go to Facebook.com. Click on the drop-down “account” menu in the top right corner. Drag to “privacy settings.”

Go to Facebook.com. Click on the drop-down "account" menu in the top right corner. Drag to "privacy settings."

Click “personal information and posts.”

Click "personal information and posts."

For each of the 7 drop-down menus on the right, click and drag to “only friends.”

For each of the 7 drop-down menus on the right, click and drag to "only friends."

Uncheck the box next to “Friends can post on my Wall”

Uncheck the box next to "Friends can post on my Wall"

On the “photo albums” line, click “edit settings” on the right.

On the "photo albums" line, click "edit settings" on the right.

Along with your profile photos, each of the albums you’ve ever uploaded will have a drop down menu. Click and drag to “Only friends” for each

Along with your profile photos, each of the albums you've ever uploaded will have a drop down menu. Click and drag to "Only friends" for each

Click the “Privacy” link on the top left. We’re not close to done yet.

Click the "Privacy" link on the top left. We're not close to done yet.

Click “contact information.”

Click "contact information."

Click on each of the 9 drop-down menus not called “add me as a friend” and drag to “only friends.” For “add me as a friend,” select “friends of friends.”

Click on each of the 9 drop-down menus not called "add me as a friend" and drag to "only friends." For  "add me as a friend," select "friends of friends."

Click “Back To Privacy” to go back on the Privacy Settings page. There, click “Friends, Tags and Connections”

Click "Back To Privacy" to go back on the Privacy Settings page. There, click "Friends, Tags and Connections"

Select “only friends” in all 10 drop-down menus

Select "only friends" in all 10 drop-down menus

Click “Back To Privacy” to go back on the Privacy Settings page. There, click “Applications and Websites.”

Click "Back To Privacy" to go back on the Privacy Settings page. There, click "Applications and Websites."

On the top line, click “learn more”

On the top line, click "learn more"

Learn it: When you use Facebook in apps on other Websites, you are giving your info to those apps and Web sites.

Learn it: When you use Facebook in apps on other Websites, you are giving your info to those apps and Web sites.

So let’s go back to Applications and Websites and make sure that doesn’t happen when you don’t want it to

So let's go back to Applications and Websites and make sure that doesn't happen when you don't want it to

Click “edit settings” on the second line, next to “What your friends can share about you”

Click "edit settings" on the second line, next to "What your friends can share about you"

Uncheck every box and click “save changes.”

Uncheck every box and click "save changes."