Diana, Princess of Wales (Photo by Tim Graham Photo Library via Getty Images)

Princess Diana, the Princess of Wales, was the mother of Prince William and Prince Harry and the ex-wife of then-Prince Charles. Known lovingly around the globe as the “People’s Princess,” Diana tragically died in a 1997 car crash in Paris.

Diana was born near Sandringham, England, in 1961. She had two older sisters (Lady Jane Fellowes and Lady Sarah McCorquodale) and a younger brother (Charles Spencer, 9th Earl Spencer). After her father inherited the title of Earl Spencer in 1975, she became Lady Diana Spencer.

Diana married Charles on July 29, 1981 at St. Paul’s Cathedral. The couple had two sons, William and Harry, before officially divorcing in 1996. After her divorce, Diana kept the title of Princess of Wales, while giving up “Her Royal Highness.”

Diana’s legacy remains her global humanitarian efforts.

Visit the website for Princess Diana.

Learn more about the life and legacy of the late Princess Diana.

Read About: Prince William
Read About: Prince Harry