Skip to main content

There are dozens of movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, and that whole Infinity Saga ended with Avengers: Endgame.

Due to all the hard work that Marvel’s put into its movies, Avengers: Endgame grossed almost $2.8 billion at the box office. This made it the biggest movie of all time, but fans thought of a way to make Avengers: Endgame even more epic.

That idea was to re-organize the entire MCU chronologically, and the result is a massive list that includes time stamps for when viewers should stop watching a movie and to switch to another movie. Here’s a look at that list in all its glory.

What the list actually is

Kevin Feige speaks onstage
Kevin Feige | Jesse Grant/Getty Images for Disney

As seen on Reddit, the list organizes all scenes in the MCU chronologically. There are 110 items on the list, which means that viewers will have to do a lot of juggling in order to go through the list.

This is mostly because many MCU movies have scenes that take place thousands of years ago, and some movies have post-credit or prologue scenes that happens during another movie. 

For example, the first thing to watch on this list is the prologue of Thor: The Dark World. The Thor movies have other scenes that are chronologically the first, and then there’s the prologue scene from Black Panther, where Killmonger learns about the history of Wakanda. 

That said, there are some easier items on this list. For instance, the last item on it is Spider-Man: Far From Home, and that’s because, chronologically, it’s the latest movie in the MCU. That said, fans also mentioned how epic this list would’ve been if it was around before Avengers: Endgame dropped.

How this list can improve your viewing experience

In preparation for Avengers: Endgame, many fans went back and watched every MCU movie in order. This was a good way to hype themselves up for the release of Avengers: Endgame, but it could’ve been more hype if they watched the MCU movies in chronological order. That’s because fans would then be able to see everything unfold in order, and this could change the viewing experience. 

For example, Captain America: The First Avenger premiered in 2011, and it came after movies like Iron Man and The Incredible Hulk. However, chronologically, Captain America: The First Avenger takes place way before everything else, so it feels disjointed from the rest of the universe up until the ending. 

By watching the MCU in chronological order, viewers can see Captain America like the rest of the Avengers see him, as a relic of the past. This makes the subplot about him trying to reconnect with his past all the more powerful, and it also makes the ending of Avengers: Endgame even more powerful. 

There is some debate, though

MCU Phase 5: Michael Peña’s Luis from ‘Ant-Man’ Deserves More Screen Time

That said, the MCU is a complicated beast, and its fans are pretty eagle-eyed. Many fans on Reddit pointed out some chronological issues with this list, which the creator later fixed. However, there are a couple of other issues that may or may not matter at the end of the day. 

For instance, in Avengers: Endgame, the Avengers go back in time, but there’s debate over whether or not those time travel scenes should be included. Obviously, they’re part of the MCU, but due to the weird time travel laws that Marvel established, technically, the Avengers traveled into an alternate universe. 

As a result, those scenes in the past, which includes Stan Lee’s final cameo, are technically in an alternate universe. This led to a debate over whether or not they should be included in the rest of the list, as the list features scenes from the main universe.

In any case though, the list is still a fun thing to look at since it took a lot of effort to put together.