‘Attack on Titan’: Why Isn’t the Anime on Today, March 27?

Attack on Titan Season 4 Part 2 is approaching its climax, and fans of the anime are eager to see how the current outing wraps. Unfortunately, they’ll have to wait an extra week for the big finale. There will be no new episode of Attack on Titan on March 27, 2022. Why has the next installment been pushed back, and when can fans expect it?

Why isn’t ‘Attack on Titan’ on today, March 27?

RELATED: ‘Attack on Titan’ Fans Doubtful the Show Is Ending With Season 4 Part 2

Attack on Titan Episode 87 isn’t on today, March 27, because of a special broadcast in Japan. According to the Attack on Titan website, this programming will fill the anime’s usual time slot. The site doesn’t specify what exactly this broadcast will entail, but it’s not uncommon for shows to push back new episodes for more pressing transmissions.

This leaves fans more time to brace themselves for the conclusion to season 4 part 2. Following a suspenseful fight with the Yeagerists, the anime’s main characters are likely to confront Eren in this final chapter. Whether they can get him to stop the Rumbling without resorting to violence is the big question.

That tension is enough to leave viewers on edge until the next installment arrives. Fortunately, the delay only pushed episode 87 back by one week.

Here’s when ‘Attack on Titan’ returns for its finale

A side profile of Eren Yeager's Titan form in 'Attack on Titan' Season 4 Part 2. His mouth is open, his eyes are glowing, and it looks like he's ready to charge at someone or something.
Screenshot of ‘Attack on Titan’ Season 4 Part 2 | Hajime Isayama/Kodansha

RELATED: ‘Attack on Titan’ Season 4 May Present Mikasa Ackerman With an Impossible Decision

Now that we know why Attack on Titan isn’t on this week, when can fans anticipate the season 4 part 2 finale? Episode 87, dubbed “The Dawn of Humanity,” will broadcast in Japan on April 3. It will come to streaming platforms Crunchyroll, Funimation, and Hulu shortly after. Here’s when the finale drops in the following time zones:

  • PST: 1:45 p.m.
  • CST: 3:45 p.m.
  • EST: 4:45 p.m.
  • GMT: 8:45 p.m.
  • CET: 9:45 p.m

Because there’s a lot of ground to cover in the last episode — and due to the delay — viewers started wondering if “The Dawn of Humanity” might have a longer runtime. Unfortunately, things aren’t looking good on that front.

The anime’s finale is reportedly 25 minutes

When Attack on Titan announced its delay, fans began wondering if there might be a longer air time for episode 87. And to be fair, with so much of Hajime Isayama’s manga left to cover, an hour-long conclusion would make sense. It would also prove a fitting sendoff for the beloved anime.

However, the AoTWiki Twitter reports that the finale’s air time will clock in at 25 minutes long. That’s about average for the series, so what gives? It’s possible the show will deliver an anime-original ending to this story. Some also believe a movie announcement is on the horizon.

We won’t know for sure until “The Dawn of Humanity” arrives. This week’s delay leaves us in suspense a little bit longer. Fortunately, we won’t be wondering for too long.

Attack on Titan Season 4 Part 2 concludes on April 3.

RELATED: ‘Attack on Titan’: 2 Dub Cast Members Still Don’t Know the Ending