BTS: The Song Descriptions for ‘Map of the Soul: 7’ Are Out — Here’s What Fans Need to Know

BTS’s new album Map of the Soul: 7 drops in less than 24 hours. Before the album’s release, Big Hit Entertainment provided descriptions for some of the songs. The songs sound better than anyone could have ever imagined, and Map of the Soul: 7 will have solos, sub-units, and songs featuring all seven members of BTS.

BTS | Jon Kopaloff/Getty Images

Each BTS member has a solo on ‘Map of the Soul: 7’

Before Big Hit Entertainment announced details about the songs on Map of the Soul: 7, ARMY already knew every member of BTS’s rap line had a solo. RM’s solo “Intro: Persona” was first released on BTS’s 2019 EP Map of the Soul: Persona.

Map of the Soul: 7 features five tracks from Map of the Soul: Persona including “Intro: Persona.” Fans also already knew of Suga’s “Interlude: Shadow” and J-Hope’s “Outro: Ego,” as both songs were comeback trailers for Map of the Soul: 7.

In addition to the rap line, each member of BTS’s vocal line has a solo on Map of the Soul: 7. With “My Time,” Jungkook will share his feelings about his career from his time as a trainee until now. Jimin’s song “Filter” will show different sides of him.

Fans knew from season 4 of BTS: Bon Voyage that Jin had inspiration while traveling to write a song about ARMY. It seems that song made it onto the album as Jin will share his love for ARMY with his solo “Moon.” With his solo “Inner Child,” V will share a message of reflection to his past self from when he was going through a difficult time.

It really seems like ‘UGH’ is ‘Ddaeng 2.0’

Map of the Soul: Persona had “Jamais Vu,” a sub-unit song featuring Jin, J-Hope, and Jungkook. “Jamais Vu” is also one of the five songs from the EP that is also found on Map of the Soul: 7. The upcoming album will have even more sub-unit songs, showing the versatility of the BTS members.

V and Jimin will cover their meaningful friendship with “Friends,” and Suga and RM are both featured on “Respect.” The vocal line will also have a song called “0:00 (Zero O’Clock).”

Perhaps the only consolation to “Outro: Tear” not being performed on the Map of the Soul Tour is that the rap line will have a new song called “UGH.” Since the tracklist was announced, BTS fans have been convinced that “UGH” would be like the rap line’s song “Ddaeng.” “UGH” will reportedly cover the BTS rappers’ “anger toward malicious anger.” So yeah, we’re getting another “Ddaeng.”

‘ON’ is the lead single from BTS’s album ‘Map of the Soul: 7’

For the Map of the Soul series, BTS have incorporated Carl Jung’s personality archetype theories into their artistry. The BTS members have related the psychology back to their own careers, and Map of the Soul: 7 is an introspective look at BTS’s past seven years together.

“We are Bulletproof : the Eternal” is a continuation of BTS’s song “We Are Bulletproof : Part 2” from their 2013 debut album 2 COOL 4 SKOOL. Based on a preview for a BTS comeback special show on Mnet’s M Countdown, “ON” is a continuation of “N.O” from their 2013 album O!RUL8,2?.

According to Big Hit Entertainment, “ON” is a hip-hop track.

“BTS once again pour out their hearts through the powerful and energetic hip hop lead single ‘ON’ that reflects on their calling and mindset as artists during the seven years,” said Big Hit Entertainment.

Physical copies of Map of the Soul: 7 will have 19 tracks, with five being from Map of the Soul: Persona. Another version of “ON” featuring Sia will only be available digitally.

“Featuring Sia’s signature eerie and charismatic voice, this digital exclusive version ‘ON (Feat. Sia)’ gives off a pleasantly different vibe from the [BTS-only version],” said Big Hit Entertainment.