Skip to main content

Fans of Dancing With the Stars have to get used to numerous changes for season 29 of the long-running program. Tyra Banks is hosting instead of Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews. The judges are slightly different, and fans will not vote during week one. Let’s find out why.

'Dancing With the Stars' Contestant Nelly
‘Dancing With the Stars’ Contestant Nelly | Frank Ockenfels /ABC via Getty Images

The complete list of songs and routines for ‘Dancing With the Stars’ Week 1

The celebrity partners will be announced live during week one; however, the songs and routines were released before the show.

Monica Aldama: foxtrot (“My Wish” by Rascal Flatts)

Carole Baskin: paso doble (“Eye of the Tiger” by Survivor)

Kaitlyn Bristowe: cha-cha (“Stupid Love” by Lady Gaga)

Vernon Davis: foxtrot (“All of Me” by John Legend)

Anne Heche: cha-cha (“Don’t Start Now” by Dua Lipa)

Skai Jackson: tango (“Super Bass” by Nicki Minaj)

Justina Machado: cha-cha (“Respect” by Aretha Franklin)

AJ McLean: jive (“Blinding Lights” by The Weeknd)

Jeannie Mai: salsa (“Tell It to My Heart” by Taylor Dayne)

Jesse Metcalfe: quickstep (“Part-Time Love” by Stevie Wonder)

Nelly: salsa (“Ride Wit Me” by Nelly)

Nev Schulman: foxtrot (“The Way You Look Tonight” by Frank Sinatra)

Charles Oakley: salsa (“In Da Club” by 50 Cent)

Chrishell Stause: tango (“Raise Your Glass” by P!nk)

Johnny Weir: cha-cha (“Buttons” by The Pussycat Dolls)

Why can’t fans vote on ‘DWTS’ Week 1?

Along with the change in the host for the show, the voting format will be slightly different, according to Gold Derby. There will not be a fan vote or an elimination during the first night of the show. Instead, week one dances will be scored by the three judges. Those scores will then be combined with the week two scores and audience votes to determine the first elimination.

In week two, fans will vote during the live broadcast in the Eastern and Central time zones. Fans will have a chance to vote across the country during that time frame. All votes will be totaled and revealed during the broadcast.

Who are the ‘DWTS’ judges for season 29?

The three judges for season 29 of Dancing With the Stars are Carrie Ann Inaba, Bruno Tonioli, and Derek Hough. Len Goodman is not returning as a judge this year because he cannot travel during the pandemic. Instead, professional dancer Hough will take his place. Fans will remember Hough as holding the record for most wins on the series — six.


Could Carole Baskin Beat the Record for the Oldest Celebrity Ever to Win ‘Dancing with the Stars’?

Inaba returns again as a judge — she has been on the panel since 2005. Tonioli also appeared as a judge on the British television dance competition Strictly Come Dancing, in addition to Dancing With the Stars in the United States.

Dancing With the Stars will premiere Sept. 14, 2020, at 8 p.m. EST on ABC.