‘Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles’: All the Playable Characters in the Game and How to Unlock Them

Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles was released on Oct. 15, bringing the popular anime to video game platforms at long last. Fans have eagerly awaited the 3D fighting game, and its arrival means they can battle with their favorite Demon Slayer characters. The story mode chronicles the anime’s first season, which premiered back in 2019. So, which characters can players expect diving into the Demon Slayer game?

Which characters are available in ‘Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles’?

Zenitsu, Tanjiro, and Inosuke in 'Demon Slayer' Season 2's Entertainment District Arc Episode 1. They're standing side by side.
Zenitsu, Tanjiro, and Inosuke in ‘Demon Slayer’ | ©Koyoharu Gotouge/SHUEISHA, Aniplex, ufotable

Because Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles covers the events of Demon Slayer Season 1, its current lineup of characters reflects the anime’s earlier episodes. Although Demon Slayer Season 2 just premiered, players won’t see the Sound Hashira in The Hinokami Chronicles.

Even without newer faces appearing in the game, Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles offers 18 playable characters from launch. Players can unlock them as they progress. Many of the characters also come in multiple forms, powering up as you go through the game.

Per ScreenRant, here’s everyone available in the game so far (and when players can unlock them):

  • Tanjiro Kamado: After the Prologue
  • Sakonji Urokodaki: After the Prologue
  • Makomo: After the Prologue
  • Sabito: After the Prologue
  • Nezuko Kamado: After Chapter 2
  • Zenitsu Agatsuma: After Chapter 4
  • Inosuke Hashibira: After Chapter 4
  • Murata: After Chapter 5
  • Giyu Tomioka: After Chapter 6
  • Shinobu Kocho: After Chapter 7
  • Kyojuro Rengoku: After Chapter 8
  • Hinokami Tanjiro: After Chapter 8
  • Tanjiro (Kimetsu Academy): After viewing 40 memory fragments
  • Nezuko (Kimetsu Academy): After viewing 53 memory fragments
  • Zenitsu (Kimetsu Academy): After finishing 15 reward missions
  • Inosuke (Kimetsu Academy): After finishing 19 reward missions
  • Giyu (Kimetsu Academy): After finishing 7 special missions on normal mode
  • Shinobu (Kimetsu Academy): After finishing 7 special missions on hard mode

A free DLC will also introduce playable demons

While the current lineup of characters for the Demon Slayer game includes most of the anime’s major players, it excludes demons (well, except Nezuko). And although they typically serve as antagonists in the anime, some players want to experience the other side of things.

According to the game’s official Twitter, CyberConnect2 will release a post-launch DLC that adds playable demons to the game. The announcement didn’t specify which antagonists fans would see. However, Aniplex and CyberConnect2 later revealed that Akaza and Rui will be part of the update.

The first DLC for the game doesn’t have a clear-cut release date just yet, but the companies teased sometime in late October or November. Additionally, there will be further updates later on, which could add more demons, including Muzan Kibutsuji. Players could also eventually see more of the Hashira.

The ‘Demon Slayer’ game is available on multiple platforms


5 ‘Demon Slayer’ Characters We Want to See More of in Season 2

If the opportunity to play as characters like Nezuko or Inosuke is too good to pass up, Demon Slayer fans have plenty of options to access the new fighting game. It’s available on multiple systems, including Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, and PC.

Reviews for Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles have been relatively positive so far, especially when addressing the story component of the game. Although some players are underwhelmed with the fighting aspect, others are enjoying battling with their favorite characters.

Of course, it’s possible players could see updates to the combat portion of the game in future DLCs. Fortunately, fans should get more information about the coming updates soon. Until then, there’s plenty of story to work through in the game as it stands.