How to Watch ‘Home Alone’ This Holiday Season

Home Alone is one of those holiday movies we all know and have seen multiple times. But watching it this time of year is becoming more difficult since it doesn’t air on network television much anymore. However, if you are looking to catch the film this holiday season have no fear because it will be on television a number of times.

Here are the days, times, and which channel to tune into for the classic film. Plus how to watch it even if you don’t have a TV.

‘Home Alone’ made Macaulay Culkin a household name

Macaulay Culkin putting his hands to his face at comedy award show in 1991
Macaulay Culkin putting his hands to his face at comedy award show in 1991 | Barry King/WireImage

Macaulay Culkin was born on Aug. 26, 1980, and started his acting career when he was just 4 years old. But it was the 1990 film that made him a household name when he played Kevin McCallister in Home Alone. And today, it’s likely one of those John Hughes films that you can recite every line.

The movie also features Culkin’s real-life brother, Keiran Culkin, who played Kevin’s cousin Fuller McCallister. Actors Cathrine O’Hara and the late John Heard played Kevin’s parents.

When and where to watch ‘Home Alone’

So when and where can you watch the movie in 2021? If you have Disney+ you can stream it or catch it on cable TV and online.

Freeform will be airing the holiday flick a lot this year. In fact, 19 times to be exact. Here are all the details so you can make plans now for which day or days to sit down and hear Kevin scream during his aftershave scene and show the wet bandits why they shouldn’t have picked his house.

  • Wednesday, Dec. 1: 5:50 p.m. ET/4:50 p.m. CT
  • Thursday, Dec. 2: 3:10 p.m. ET/2:10 p.m. CT
  • Saturday, Dec. 4: 8:50 p.m. ET/7:50 p.m. CT
  • Sunday, Dec. 5: 6:40 p.m. ET/5:40 p.m. CT
  • Monday, Dec. 6: 1:10 p.m. ET/12:10 p.m. CT
  • Tuesday, Dec. 7: 11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT
  • Thursday, Dec. 9: 5:50 p.m. ET/4:50 p.m. CT
  • Friday, Dec. 10: 4:10 p.m. ET/3:10 p.m. CT
  • Monday, Dec. 13: 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT
  • Tuesday, Dec. 14: 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT
  • Thursday, Dec. 16: 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT
  • Friday, Dec. 17: 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT
  • Sunday, Dec. 19: 7:50 p.m. ET/6:50 p.m. CT
  • Monday, Dec. 20: 10:30 a.m. ET/9:30 a.m. CT
  • Tuesday, Dec. 21: 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. ET
  • Wednesday, Dec. 22: 2:05 p.m. ET/1:05 p.m. CT
  • Thursday, Dec. 23: 4:05 p.m. ET/3:05 p.m. CT
  • Friday, Dec. 24: 1 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT
  • Saturday, Dec. 25: 6:45 p.m. ET/5:45 p.m. CT

If you don’t have a TV or cable subscription you can still see Home Alone at any of the above times online via Hulu Live or YouTube TV.

Its sequel ‘Home Alone 2: Lost in New York’ is a holiday classic as well

Following the success of Home Alone, the sequel Home Alone 2: Lost in New York was released with the same cast of characters and that too became a holiday classic.

After the second film, several more Home Alone films were made including the new reboot Home Sweet Home Alone. There are six movies in all: Home Alone, Home Alone 2: Lost In New York, Home Alone 3, Home Alone 4: Taking Back the House, Home Alone: The Holiday Heist. Culkin and the original cast are only featured in the first two movies.

Home Alone 2: Lost in New York and Home Alone 3 are streaming on Disney+ and also available to rent or purchase on Amazon Prime Video, iTunes, YouTube, Vudu, Google Play, and Microsoft Store. Home Alone 4: Taking Back the House and Home Alone: The Holiday Heist are not available on any subscription streaming service at the moment. The reboot Home Sweet Home Alone, which was released on Nov. 12, 2021, is currently streaming on Disney+.

RELATED: ‘Home Alone’: Where Is the Cast Now?