Skip to main content

Below Deck swept the 2020 Golden Crappie Awards with Kate Chastain taking the “Best Bravolebrity” honor and Ashton Pienaar named “The Worst.”

Kate Chastain
Kate Chastain | Charles Sykes/Bravo/NBCU Photo Bank via Getty Images

The annual Watch What Crappens podcast award show was held on January 17 at the Regent Theater, DTLA in Los Angeles, California. Hosts Ronnie Karam and Ben Mandelker’s signature tongue in cheek snarky sense of humor was laser-sharp as they delivered the awards and the comedy to the sold-out crowd. Several Bravolebrities made guest appearances such as Tom Sandoval and Ariana Madix from Vanderpump Rules. Also, Braunwyn Windham-Burke from The Real Housewives of Orange County stopped by too. At least 15,000 fans voted online, which is a 4,000 increase in votes from last year.

The Below Deck franchise took two additional awards in addition to “Best” and “Worst.” Below Deck Mediterranean nabbed two awards which included Aesha Scott named “Best Newbie” and Colin Macy-O’Toole’s mother, Robin as “Best Mom.” The Real Housewives of New York City took the “Best Show” honor but two Below Deck cast members walked away big (or not so big) winners.

Chastain had some tough competition

Bravo fans don’t take the honor of “Best Bravolebrity” lightly so it is very likely many agonized over their decision. Like many of the big awards, Karam and Mandelker left this award toward the end of the show. In addition to Chastain, nominees included a pretty hefty list. This includes Dr. Heavenly Kimes from Married to Medicine and Gizelle Bryant from The Real Housewives of Potomac. Also, Kameron Westcott and Stephanie Hollman from The Real Housewives of Dallas.

Plus, Kelly Dodd from The Real Housewives of Orange County, Kristen Doute from Vanderpump Rules, and Lisa Vanderpump from The Real Housewives of “I’ve Been Betrayed” (according to the hosts). Porsha Williams from The Real Housewives of Atlanta and Sonja Morgan from The Real Housewives of New York City rounded out the list.

The hosts wondered if a “dark horse” might win like Westcott or Morgan. But Chastain was the undeniable winner this year. “Congratulations to Kate Chastain,” Mandelker announced in his best Chastain voice.

On the other hand, there’s ‘The Worst’

The Golden Crappies had both “Best Villian” and just “The Worst.” LeeAnne Locken from The Real Housewives of Dallas received the “Best Villian” award. But when it came to “The Worst” the hosts just said, “This is simply the worst,” Karam described. The first nominee was Ashton Pienaar from Below Deck. “Why don’t I stick my tongue down your throat,” Karam said in his Pienaar voice. “And try to get ya fired, alright?”

Joining Pienaar was Chef Mila Kolomeitseva from Below Deck Mediterranean and everyone on Vanderpump Rules getting along. Kyle Richards and Teddi Mellencamp from The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills both made the list. Plus, Garo Sparo from Project Runway and NeNe Leakes from The Real Housewives of Atlanta were part of “The Worst” list. Finally, Shane Simpson from The Real Housewives of Orange County rounded out the nominees.

Richards was perhaps favored to win. But Pienaar easily walked away with the dubious honor. Although Karam seemed to favor Richards to win, he had this comment. “At least Kyle Richards didn’t f**king attack someone.”