‘Law & Order: SVU’: Fans May Be Surprised When the Show Last Won an Emmy Award

The hit series Law & Order: SVU is about to return with its 23rd season, which is an exciting prospect. The show has been around for over two decades, and it’s been a staple for many viewers. 

With the Emmy Awards almost upon us, it may have fans wondering when the last time was that the show won an Emmy. 

Mariska Hargitay and Nazneen Contractor
Mariska Hargitay and Nazneen Contractor | Bauzen/GC Images

When did ‘Law & Order: SVU’ win an Emmy Award last?

With a police procedural like SVU, it makes sense the show would have received quite a few awards over the years. With the 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards this Sunday, September 19, 2021, at 8 p.m. EST, it might have fans wondering when the last time this epic show received an Emmy. It’s actually been quite a long time. 

In total, the series has received 23 nominations as well as one honor for the Emmys according to the Emmys’ official website. The last nomination took place all the way in 2011 for Mariska Hargitay, who has played Olivia Benson from the beginning of the show, for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series. She didn’t win unfortunately. The last time the show won an Emmy was in 2010 for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series for Ann-Margret in the episode “Bedtime.” So, it’s been a significantly long time since the series won an Emmy.

How many Emmys has the show received?

The show has a total of 6 Emmy Awards under its belt including the one already mentioned. According to IMDb, another Emmy came in 2009 for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series for Ellen Burstyn in “Swing.” The very next Emmy came the following year in 2008 for the same category, this time Cynthia Nixon won for the episode “Alternate.”

The show has also received a Television Academy Honor at the Emmys in 2008 for the episode “Harm.” From there, the next Emmy Award came the following year for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series for Leslie Caron in “Recall.”

SVU’s very own Mariska Hargitay won an Emmy for Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series in 2006. Next up is another Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series in 2005 for Amanda Plummer in “Weak.”

How many awards has ‘Law & Order: SVU’ won over the years?


‘Law & Order: SVU’: Fans Weigh in on if Benson and Barba ‘Would Have Been the Best Pairing’

According to IMDb, the hit series has won 56 awards with a whopping 161 nominations. The show has won more than just Emmys though. It’s won everything from Gold Derby Awards to People’s Choice Awards to a Satellite Award. 

SVU took home an Environmental Media Award in 2006 for the episode “Rockabye.” It also won a Golden Globe in 2005 through Mariska Hargitay for Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series Drama. The series also has an NAACP Image Award for 2012 for Outstanding Drama Series as well as two others. These are just a few of the many awards the show has received.

Fans may be surprised that SVU hasn’t won more awards, as it’s such an iconic and interesting show. We’ll have to see if the upcoming season, which premieres on September 23 at 8 p.m. EST, wins any awards in the future.