Skip to main content

Evolving Pokémon in Pokémon GO is typically pretty explanatory. However, like Nintendo’s original video games, the app requires trainers to put in extra effort when it comes to evolving Eevee. The Normal-type Pokémon has eight evolutions, all of which are currently available in the game. Unfortunately, it’s not always clear how to get them. So, how exactly can trainers secure the Eevee evolutions they’re looking for in Pokémon GO?

How to evolve Eevee into Jolteon, Flareon, and Vaporeon

Someone catching an Eevee in 'Pokémon GO'
Catching an Eevee in ‘Pokémon GO’ | Edward Berthelot/Getty Images

As part of Gen 1, Jolteon, Flareon, and Vaporeon have been available in Pokémon GO since the beginning — and many longtime players have already snagged each of the original Eevee evolutions. However, those looking to add these three to their Pokédex for the first time can do so with a simple name trick. By renaming your Eevee, you can guarantee it will evolve into one of the following:

  • Sparky: Jolteon
  • Pyro: Flareon
  • Rainer: Vaporeon

Unfortunately, this trick only works once, so use it wisely. Once trainers have caught the Eevee evolution in question, getting another Jolteon, Flareon, or Vaporeon is largely up to fate.

These 2 Eevee evolutions depend on the time of day in ‘Pokémon GO’

Umbreon and Espeon were introduced in Gen 2, and both of them are fairly easy to get in Pokémon GO. Players who haven’t evolved one yet can use the name trick for these evolutions as well, renaming Eevee to Sakura for Espeon and Tamao for Umbreon. But trainers can guarantee themselves an Espeon or Umbreon after they’ve utilized that strategy as well.

To evolve an Eevee into one of these evolutions, Pokémon GO players need to walk them as their Buddy for 10km. After that, they can obtain Espeon by evolving that Eevee during the daytime and Umbreon by doing so at night. To tell if it’s daytime or nighttime in the game, take a good luck at the sky.

Lure modules will guarantee players 2 evolutions

Like Umbreon and Espeon, Leafeon and Glaceon are fairly straightforward to obtain in Pokémon GO. For these two, players can rename Eevee to Linea (Leafeon) or Rea (Glaceon).

After that first evolution, they can also take advantage of special Lure modules to evolve Eevee. Evolving one within range of a Mossy Lure will turn it into Leafeon, while doing so within range of a Glacial Lure will turn it into Glaceon. Both Lure modules can be found in the item shop in Pokémon GO. Just make sure the shadow that comes up before evolving Eevee resembles the evolution you’re gunning for!

How to evolve Eevee into Sylveon in ‘Pokémon GO’


Ed Sheeran to Jam With the Squirtle Squad for New ‘Pokémon GO’ Event

Sylveon is the newest Eevee evolution to come to Pokémon GO, and many trainers are eager to add it to their Pokédex. The Niantic game hasn’t let go of the naming trick yet; dubbing Eevee Kira will land players one Sylveon.

To evolve Eevee into Sylveon after that requires slightly more effort. Not only do players need to make the Eevee they plan on evolving their buddy, but they have to accumulate 70 hearts with it. Like in the Nintendo games, Sylveon requires trainers to establish a “friendship” with their Pokémon before evolving it. Once they do, though, they’ll be able to brag about having every Eevee evolution available in the game.