When is the September Nintendo Direct? Where to Watch and What to Expect

Nintendo announced a brand new Nintendo Direct to go live on September 23, 2021. Fans are excited at what news could drop. Could the final Super Smash Bros. character debut? Audiences could hear updates on Breath of the Wild 2. Whatever Nintendo has in store, the important part is knowing how and where to catch it.

Reggie Fils-Aimé showing of the Switch Nintendo Direct
Reggie Fils-Aimé | Neilson Barnard/Getty Images for Nintendo of America

The September Nintendo Direct streams live on Thursday

The 40-minute presentation was announced for Thursday, September 23, 2021, at 3 pm PT.

For those viewers looking for quick conversion to their time zone in the US, the Nintendo Direct airs at 4 pm (MDT), 5 pm (CDT), and 6 pm (EST).

Across the pond, the Nintendo Direct will air later at night, starting at 11 pm BST. The presentation takes place Friday morning in many European and Asian countries.

On Friday, September 24, fans in Japan and Australia can catch the showcase at 7 am, and 8 am, respectively.

Finding the air time only marks half the battle. Locating the best site for you to see the live stream remains just as important.

Where to watch the presentation

The Nintendo Direct live stream takes place on Nintendo’s official YouTube channel.

The live stream video has been embedded in this article for quick and easy access.

Before the video goes live, you can set a reminder and return later for the presentation.

Though, you could always sit and wait with the 10 thousand fans eagerly awaiting the presentation to begin, hours before it goes live. The tactic is not unfamiliar who ever waited in line for hours to see a new Star Wars movie.

What will the September Nintendo Direct include?

The YouTube description on their video offers a small glimpse into the Nintendo Direct’s content.

“Tune in 9/23 at 3 p.m. PT for a Nintendo Direct live stream featuring roughly 40 minutes of information focused mainly on Nintendo Switch games launching this winter.”

While many fans ready for Autumn, decorating their houses for Halloween fun, Nintendo looks to the holiday season. Audiences who celebrate Christmas prepare for presents and gift cards ahead of time with the Nintendo Direct.

Other information can only be speculated, however. The Nintendo Direct comes a few weeks before the new OLED Model, and information about it will likely be discussed.

Announced in July, the OLED Switch Model “comes with a 7-inch OLED screen, which is larger than the Switch’s 6.2-inch LCD display. What it doesn’t do, though, is output at 4K when docked, which many Switch owners and those looking to upgrade were expecting,” Techradar reported.

Another exciting prospect is the possible reveal of the final Super Smash Bros. DLC fighter. The Fighter’s Pass always explodes on Twitter, and every new Nintendo Direct leads to speculation on if we can see the new fighter.

Fans can also expect brief showcases for indie games, like the newly released Deltarune Chapter 2.

Nintendo is notoriously difficult to predict, so it is anyone’s guess what the September Nintendo Direct will include.

It begins Thursday, September 23, 2021, at 3 pm PT/ 6 pm EST.

RELATED: Nintendo: The Surprising Impact ‘Donkey Kong’ Had on ‘Kirby’