Skip to main content

One Piece has been around (at least in manga form) since 1997, with the anime launching in 1999. More than 20 years later, the animation sensation is still going strong. While there are fans who enjoy both the manga and the anime, the anime and manga don’t always match up in terms of content. Let’s take a closer look at why that is, what filler arcs exist, and which ones you can skip.

One Piece filler arcs aren't fans' favorites, but it doesn't stop fans from loving this anime
A set of Japanese manga series One Piece light is seen at Kaifeng lantern show | Li Chuanzhong/Visual China Group via Getty Images

One Piece filler list 

Readers of the manga and viewers of the anime may notice that there are differences between the two. According to CBR, the series contains multiple filler episodes so that it doesn’t catch up with the manga too quickly. Anime Filler List compiled a list of filler episodes: 

  • 54-60
  • 98-99
  • 102, 131-143, 196-206
  • 220-226. 279-283. 291-292
  • 303, 317-319. 326-336. 382-384
  • 406-407, 426-429, 457-458, 492
  • 542, 575-578, 590
  • 626-628
  • 747-750, 780-782
  • 881, 895-896
  • 907

That’s 99 filler episodes in a series with an episode count near 1,000, so there’s still plenty of material outside of these filler arcs. But what are the ones to miss (and the ones you can’t afford to miss)? 

Here are the One Piece fillers to skip (and the one you can’t afford to miss)

Below is a brief summary of the filler arcs you can skip from One Piece without worry: 

  • 54-61: The Warship Island Arc. This is the series’ very first filler arc. 
  • 135-135: The Post-Alabasta Arc. You can probably skip these, as they have no overarching arc to them. All five are standalone episodes with self-contained stories. 
  • 136-138: The Goat Island Arc. This mini-arc sees the Straw Hat Pirates engage in games of chance with an old man in a place known as Goat Island which is (true to its name) an island populated by goats. 
  • 220-224: The Ocean’s Dream Arc. Based on a video game produced in conjunction with the series, this features the crew losing their memories and forgetting that their members of the Straw Hat Pirates. After its conclusion, they return to their normal selves. 

While you can safely skip the episodes outlined above, one filler arc you’ll want to watch is the G-8 arc from episodes 196-206. This occurs immediately following the Sky Island Saga. Many fans see this as the best of the best in terms of the filler arcs, so it is well worth your time as a fan. 

What is One Piece about? 

According to Retro Junk, the original source material for One Piece is a “steampunk manga and anime series” from the mind of Eiichiro Oda. It tells the story of a group known as the Straw Hat Pirates. Their adventure takes them on a search for a hidden treasure.

The Straw Hat Pirates aren’t your typical pirates – rather than acting violently, they often help the people and villages they come across. The crew is captained by Monkey D. Luffy who seeks the treasure of the Pirate King, Gold Roger. 


Megan Thee Stallion Shares Her Anime Crush, Discusses Anime’s Influence on Her Style

The entire story takes place in a fictional universe taking place in something called “The Great Age of Piracy.” The era was ushered in by Gold Roger, who on his death bed proclaimed that all the treasure he had found was available for pirates to take if they could find it. He said he left it all in “one piece,” giving the story its title. In short, One Piece is a can’t-miss anime work that has plenty of fans. But not all of the series is based directly on material from the manga. There’s a bit of a discrepancy, for an interesting reason.