aespa Became the 1st K-pop Girl Group to Perform in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

On Nov. 25, the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade took place in New York City. During the famous parade, GISELLE, WINTER, KARINA, and NINGNING of the K-pop group aespa performed. This made aespa the second K-pop group and the first K-pop girl group to ever perform in the popular Thanksgiving event.

The members of aespa pose during rehearsal for the 95th Annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade®
aespa | Eugene Gologursky/Getty Images for Macy’s Inc.

aespa performed ‘Savage’ during the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade

Each year, the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade is held in NYC on Thanksgiving. The parade is televised and features floats, balloons, and performances.

For the 2021 Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, aespa, Carrie Underwood, Jon Batiste, Kristin Chenoweth, Kim Petras, Jordan Fisher, Andy Grammer, Nelly, Mickey Guyton, Foreigner, Jimmie Allen, Tauren Wells, Girls5eva, Darren Criss, Chris Lane, Rob Thomas, Kelly Rowland, Zoe Wees, and Tai Verdes performed.

The parade also featured the cast of Sesame Street and Blue’s Clues hosts Steve, Joe, and Josh.

aespa performed ‘Savage’ in the Thanksgiving parade

On Oct. 5, aespa released their first EP, Savage. The EP features six tracks: “Aenergy,” “Savage,” “I’ll Make You Cry,” “Yeppi Yeppi,” “Iconic,” and “Lucid Dream.” The EP reached No. 20 on the Billboard 200 chart.

“Savage” is the EP’s lead single, and the K-pop group performed the song at the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. For the event, GISELLE, WINTER, KARINA, and NINGNING appeared on Olay’s “Her Future is STEM-sational” float.

According to Macy’s, the float “celebrates & inspires” women of all ages “to shoot for the stars in pursuing opportunities, studies & careers in science, technology, engineering & math (STEM).”

With their performance of “Savage,” aespa became the first K-pop girl group to ever perform in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

In 2019, NCT 127 performed “Highway to Heaven” during the parade, making history as the first K-pop group to ever perform at the event.

Both NCT 127 and aespa debuted with the entertainment company SM Entertainment.

The K-pop group debuted in 2020

GISELLE, WINTER, KARINA, and NINGNING debuted with SM Entertainment as aespa in 2020. The band’s name combines “ae” (Avatar and Experience) with “aspect” (two sides). As part of the group’s concept, each member of aespa has a virtual avatar counterpart.

The quartet debuted with a single called “Black Mamba.” The music video for “Black Mamba” became the fastest debut K-pop music video to surpass 100 million views following its release.

In February 2021, the K-pop group released a cover of the song “Forever” as a single. “Forever” was originally released by SM Entertainment artist Yoo Young-jin.


TXT: Yeonjun and Taehyun Cover The Kid Laroi and Justin Bieber’s Song ‘Stay’

aespa then released the single “Next Level” in May 2021. “Next Level” is a remake of a song by the same name from the soundtrack for Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw.

With each comeback, aespa grow more and more popular. While the band is only a rookie group, the members’ success is already monumental.