Halsey Is Bringing in 2 Oscar Winners to Produce Her New Album

On Aug. 27, Halsey will drop her fourth studio album, If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power. The release of the album will be preceded by an IMAX film of the same name which will include songs from the album. Halsey’s 2020 album Manic was met with critical acclaim, and If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power is poised to top the success of the singer’s previous records. To create the album, Halsey brought on two well-known producers.

Halsey in a strapless dress while attending the 2019 CMA Awards
Halsey | Taylor Hill/Getty Images

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross are producing Halsey’s new album

Halsey announced the title of her latest project on June 28. A teaser clip in the announcement includes Halsey singing the lyrics, “All of this is temporary.” Based on the teaser, If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power sounds like it will belong to the rock genre. In the announcement, she also revealed that Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross produced the album.

“If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power The FOURTH album by Halsey Produced by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross,” Halsey tweeted.

Given that Reznor and Ross are members of the rock band Nine Inch Nails, If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power being a rock album makes a lot of sense. However, both Reznor and Ross boast impressive resumes outside of their involvement in Nine Inch Nails.

Together, the two have scored multiple films including The Social NetworkThe Girl with the Dragon TattooGone Girl, and Soul. Reznor and Ross won Academy Awards for their work on The Social Network and Soul, and they received a Grammy Award for the score of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

RELATED: How Halsey’s New Album ‘If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power’ Is Like ‘Badlands,’ Their Debut

‘If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power’ has 13 songs

On Aug. 10, Halsey revealed the tracklist for If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power. Because of trailers for the IMAX film If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power, fans of the singer-songwriter have already heard snippets of a couple of tracks.

The album has a total of 13 songs:

  1. “The Tradition”
  2. “Bells in Santa Fe”
  3. “Easier than Lying”
  4. “Lilith”
  5. “Girl is a Gun”
  6. “You asked for this”
  7. “Darling”
  8. “1121”
  9. “honey”
  10. “Whispers”
  11. “I am not a woman, I’m a god”
  12. “The Lighthouse”
  13. “Ya’aburnee”

RELATED: Halsey Shares Locations for Her Upcoming IMAX Film ‘If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power’

The album will cover Halsey’s experience with pregnancy

On July 14, Halsey gave birth to their first child named Ender. The child’s father is Halsey’s boyfriend, Alev Aydin. Before giving birth to Ender, the singer-songwriter revealed that If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power will explore their experience with pregnancy and motherhood.

In an Instagram post, she wrote:

“This album is a concept album about the joys and horrors of pregnancy and childbirth. It was very important to me that the cover art conveyed the sentiment of my journey over the past few months. The dichotomy of the Madonna and the Whore. The idea that me as a sexual being and my body as a vessel and gift to my child are two concepts that can co-exist peacefully and powerfully. My body has belonged to the world in many different ways the past few years, and this image is my means of reclaiming my autonomy and establishing my pride and strength as a life force for my human being.”

If I Can’t Have Love, I Want Power will be available in stores and on streaming and music-purchasing platforms on Aug. 27.