Skip to main content

On Dec. 10, the K-pop group Monsta X released an English-language album called The Dreaming. The album is the band’s second English-language album, following their 2020 album All About Luv. Monsta X also released a movie called Monsta X: The Dreaming to coincide with the release of the album.

The members of the K-pop group Monsta X attend 2019 SBS Gayo Daejeon
Monsta X | THE FACT/Imazins via Getty Images

Monsta X’s new album has 10 songs

Shownu, Minhyuk, Kihyun, Hyungwon, Joohoney, and I.M debuted as Monsta X with Starship Entertainment in 2015. Shownu is currently not active in the group as he is completing his military enlistment.

Before releasing The Dreaming, the K-pop group dropped a pre-release single called “One Day” on Sept. 10. The single is included on the tracklist for The Dreaming.

The Dreaming tracklist:

  1. “One Day”
  2. “You Problem”
  3. “Tied to Your Body”
  4. “Whispers in the Dark”
  5. “Blame Me”
  6. “Secrets”
  7. “About Last Night”
  8. “Better”
  9. “Blow Your Mind”
  10. “The Dreaming”

The song “You Problem” was released as a single on Dec. 10.

Monsta X released a movie alongside the album

In the days surrounding the release of The Dreaming, Monbebes around the world were able to see Monsta X: The Dreaming in theaters. The film was available in theaters in South Korea on Dec. 8. Outside of South Korea, the film was in select theaters on Dec. 9 and Dec. 11.

A press release describes the film as:

“Composed of six members -Shownu, Minhyuk, Kihyun, Hyungwon, Joohoney, and I.M- this brand-new film gives an intimate look at MONSTA X’s rigorous journey over the past six years including exclusive one-on-one interviews with each individual member, personal stories from their time in America and a special concert clip exclusively for their fans. This unmissable cinema event also includes high-energy musical performances of their chart-topping hits along with an exclusive first look of ‘The Dreaming’, ‘One Day’, and more from their upcoming album, ‘MONSTA X : THE DREAMING.'”


ATEEZ, NCT 127, and Twice Will Kick Off New World Tours

What the members think of the album

Following the release of The Dreaming, Minhyuk, Kihyun, Hyungwon, Joohoney, and I.M were interviewed by PEOPLE. In the interview, the Monsta X members shared their thoughts on The Dreaming and Monsta X: The Dreaming.

“The album name is The Dreaming, so the lyrics are kind of dreamy and very soft. The lyrics are like a poem. It’ll touch your heart,” I.M told PEOPLE.

The members then discussed what it was like to see themselves in a movie.

“I feel like a movie star,” Minhyuk said.

I.M added, “Well, I wanted to say I think it’s going to be awkward because we’ve been to the theater to watch some movies that we love, but this time we are seeing ourselves … in movie theaters. So I think it’s going to be awkward.”

The members of the K-pop group will perform “One Day” from The Dreaming on Good Morning America on Dec. 13.