Skip to main content

Star Wars fans are getting excited for the latest spinoff series from the franchise. The new series Obi-Wan Kenobi drops to Disney+ at the end of May. As the name suggests, the show will star Ewan McGregor, reprising his role as Obi-Wan from the Star Wars movies. With so many movies and shows, the timelines can get a little confusing. Luckily we have your guide to understanding the order of events.

How does Obi-Wan Kenobi fit into the Star Wars timeline? Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan Kenobi wearing a cloak and hood.
Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan Kenobi | Disney+

The first three ‘Star Wars’ movies set up the storyline for ‘Obi-Wan Kenobi’

The Star Wars universe uses a few important acronyms to explain its timeline, Digital Spy writes. BBY stands for before the Battle of Yavin, and ABY stands for after the Battle of Yavin. “The Battle of Yavin took place in Star Wars: A New Hope, beginning with an attempt to destroy the Rebel base of Yavin IV, which ended in the explosion of the first Death Star,” the outlet says.

In chronological order, the Star Wars movies begin with Episode 1: The Phantom Menace (1999) in 32 BBY. In this film, a young Obi-Wan Kenobi is still training under Qui-Gon Jinn. They meet a nine-year-old Anakin Skywalker and Qui-Gonn is able to free him from his servitude. Episode II: Attack of the Clones (2002) takes place a decade later in 22 BBY, with Anakin now training under Obi-Wan Kenobi.

What is ‘Obi-Wan Kenobi’ about?

Next, Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (2005) jumps forward another three years to 19 BBY. Star Wars fans will remember that this film tells the story of how Anakin transformed into Darth Vader and the Jedi were all but annihilated. Of course, Obi-Wan was one of the few who survived, which leads us to the TV series.

According to, the new series Obi-Wan Kenobi will take place ten years after the events of Revenge of the Sith in 9 BBY. Obi-Wan is surviving in a new world order in which the remaining Jedi continue to be hunted down and killed. He also watches over a young Luke Skywalker while hiding out on Tatooine.


‘Star Wars’ ‘Obi-Wan Kenobi’ Release Date, Cast, and Everything Else We Know

‘A New Hope’ ends Obi-Wan Kenobi’s story

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016) takes place right before Episode IV: A New Hope (1977) in the year 0 BBY. The film sets up the storyline for Luke’s destruction of the Death Star in Episode IV. A New Hope is also the film where Obi-Wan meets his end. Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back (1980) moves forward another three years to 3 ABY. Luke travels to Dagobah to train under the mysterious and eccentric Yoda.

Finally, Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983) only moves forward about a year to 4 ABY. The film begins with Han Solo’s rescue and ends with the death of Darth Vader and the Emperor. The Disney+ series The Mandalorian (2019) follows the story of a lone bounty hunter named Din Djarin in the year 9 ABY. The show also did fans the service of introducing Baby Yoda.

Obi-Wan Kenobi drops to Disney+ on May 27.