Skip to main content

TXT Show Their Musical Growth With ‘The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE’

On May 31 at 6 p.m. KST, TOMORROW X TOGETHER released their second studio album, 'The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE.' The album is the first of TXT's new album series and shows their musical growth. In the hours before 'The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE' was released, TXT held a global media showcase for reporters and discussed the album.

On May 31, TOMORROW X TOGETHER dropped their album, The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE. The album kicks off their new album series, The Chaos Chapter, and is the K-pop group‘s second studio album. In the hours leading up to the album’s release, Soobin, Yeonjun, Beomgyu, Taehyun, and Huening Kai of TXT held a media showcase for reporters.

Soobin, Huening Kai, Beomgyu, Yeonjun, and Taehyun of TXT stand at their Global Media Showcase for 'The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE'
TXT | Big Hit Music

‘The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE’ is TXT’s second full-length album

TXT debuted in 2019 with Big Hit Music. Their first album series is known as The Dream Chapter. The Dream Chapter: Star is TXT’s debut EP, and in October 2019 they released their first studio album, The Dream Chapter: Magic. The Dream Chapter trilogy concluded with the EP The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY.

In October 2020, the quintet released a standalone EP called minisode1: Blue Hour instead of starting a new album series. With the EP, TXT portrayed the complicated feelings teenagers experienced amid the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE marks the beginning of a new era for the band. At the media showcase, Soobin shared that while The Dream Chapter was a coming-of-age trilogy, The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE tells the story of boys whose ordinary lives are disrupted by chaos. While under attack, they find a lifeline in someone they love.

RM of BTS worked on the album’s title track

The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE has eight tracks:

  1. “Anti-Romantic”
  2. “0X1=LOVESONG (I Know I Love You)” feat. Seori
  3. “Magic”
  4. “소악행” (“Ice Cream”)
  5. “밸런스 게임” (“What if I had been that PUMA”)
  6. “No Rules”
  7. “디어 스푸트니크” (“Dear Sputnik”)
  8. “Frost”

RM of BTS helped write the lyrics for the album’s lead single, “0X1=LOVESONG (I Know I Love You)” feat. Seori. At the media showcase, the members of TXT revealed how RM became involved with the song.

According to Soobin, Bang Si-hyuk, the CEO of HYBE Corporation and Big Hit Music, had trouble with the lyrics for “0X1=LOVESONG.” After three weeks, he approached RM to see if he would be interested in writing the lyrics.

RM agreed, and later on, Bang was torn over which song to pick as the lead single of The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE. RM voted for “0X1=LOVESONG,” and his vote won.


TXT Perform ‘We Lost the Summer’ on ‘The Ellen DeGeneres Show’

Huening Kai added that when he found out RM helped with the lyrics, he ran to find the BTS rapper in the HYBE building to thank him, and RM replied “No problem!”

The members of TXT participated in songwriting on the album

Overall, The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE shows TXT’s growth as artists. “Magic” is TXT’s first English-language song, and “0X1=LOVESONG” is a pop-rock track. With the album, the members tried new musical styles and pushed boundaries with their creativity and talent.

All five members also participated in songwriting on the album, displaying just how much input they had while making The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE.

Soobin co-wrote “Ice Cream,” and Yeonjun, Beomgyu, and Taehyun are co-writers on “What if I had been that PUMA.” Yeonjun, Beomgyu, Taehyun, and Huening Kai all participated in the songwriting for “No Rules.”

Both Taehyun and Huening Kai co-wrote “Dear Sputnik,” and in addition to songwriting, Huening Kai also helped produce the track. Yeonjun co-wrote the last song on the tracklist, “Frost.”

The Chaos Chapter: FREEZE and a music video for “0X1=LOVESONG” was released on May 31 at 6 p.m. KST.