TXT’s ‘Can’t You See Me?’ Named Radio Disney’s 2020 Song of the Summer

Tomorrow X Together, also known as TXT, is making waves with their EP The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY. Most recently, the K-pop group’s song “Can’t You See Me?” was named 2020’s Song of the Summer by Radio Disney.

Tomorrow X Together | Mary Clavering/Young Hollywood/Getty Images

TXT won Radio Disney’s Song of the Summer

TXT is made up of five members: Soobin, Yeonjun, Beomgyu, Taehyun, and Huening Kai. The band debuted in 2019 under Big Hit Entertainment and already has widespread name recognition and charting power.

Radio Disney nominated Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande for “Rain on Me,” Sia’s “Together,” Zoe Wees’s “Control,” TXT for “Can’t You See Me?”, Diplo’s “Dance with me,” JP Saxe’s “If the World Was Ending,” Kenzie’s “Exhale,” and Dua Lipa’s “Break My Heart” for Song of the Summer.

Fans were given a week to vote, and TXT came out as the winner. In a video posted by Radio Disney, the members thanked fans for voting for them.

RELATED: Tomorrow X Together Released a Dreamy Cover of Ariana Grande’s ‘Thank U, Next’

“We just heard that our song ‘Can’t You See Me?’ from our EP The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY is Radio Disney’s 2020 Song of the Summer!” Soobin said.

“It’s actually a very special song for us, so we are honored and really happy that so many of you have enjoyed it,” Yeonjun added.

TXT released ‘Can’t You See Me?’ in May

On May 18, 2020, TXT released their second EP The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY. The EP consists of six songs: “Drama,” “Can’t You See Me?” “Fairy of Shampoo,” “Maze in the Mirror,” “PUMA,” and “Eternally.”

“Can’t You See Me?” served as the lead single of The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY, and in an interview with Billboard, the K-pop group explained the meaning of the song.

“We think that ‘Can’t You See Me?’ really carries the whole penetrative theme of the entire album. It’s our title track [lead single] because it’s about the confusion and loneliness that the boys in our story feel as they collide with reality and discover conflicts in their friendship. The song delivers both a sense of resentment towards friends and a desire to be saved by them. It’s a very unique song with unique sounds that follow turbulent emotions,” the TXT members told Billboard.

The success of ‘The Dream Chapter’ era

TXT first debuted in 2019 with their EP The Dream Chapter: Star. In October 2019, they released their first studio album The Dream Chapter: Magic. The Korean band’s 2020 EP The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY completed their The Dream Chapter album series.

All three albums explored similar themes of growing up and adolescence. The music video for “Can’t You See Me?” is connected to the music video for “9 and Three Quarters (Run Away),” the lead single from The Dream Chapter: Magic.

Musically, the EP showed the TXT members’ growth as artists, as all five members co-wrote the song “Maze in the Mirror.” Yeonjun also played a hand in writing the rap part of “Fairy of Shampoo,” the first remake song ever released by the group.

The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY topped the iTunes album chart in 50 regions after its release, and in 2020 TXT was nominated for Best K-pop at the 2020 MTV Video Music Awards for the “Run Away” music video.