(L to R) Emma Watson, Daniel Radcliffe, and Rupert Grint of 'Harry Potter' (Courtesy of Warner Bros./Newsmakers)

Harry Potter is a series of best-selling fantasy novels by J.K. Rowling. The series follows a young and famous wizard named Harry Potter as he enters the Wizarding World and begins schooling at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Throughout the seven-book series, Harry and his friends battle the darkest wizard of all time, Lord Voldemort.

The seven books were adapted into 8 films starring Daniel Radcliffe as Harry Potter, Rupert Grint as Ron Weasley, and Emma Watson as Hermione Granger.

The companion novel Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001) was adapted to another film series, including the first installment of the same name, the second Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, and the forthcoming Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore. Eddie Redmayne stars as Newt Scamander.

List of books:

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (1997)
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998)
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999)
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000)
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003)
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005)
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007)

Companion Books:

  1. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001)
  2. Quidditch Through the Ages (2001)
  3. The Tales of Beedle the Bard (2018)

Setting: England
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Hogwarts Houses:
 Gryffindor, Slytherin, Hufflepuff, and Ravenclaw
Where to Watch: All 8 movies are available on HBO Max.

Visit the official Harry Potter Wizarding World website.

Read the latest articles about Harry Potter 

Read About: Emma Watson