The NCIS cast poses on the set.
Wilmer Valderrama as NCIS Special Agent Nicholas "Nick" Torres, Emily Wickersham as NCIS Special Agent Eleanor "Ellie" Bishop, Sean Murray as NCIS Special Agent Timothy McGee, Mark Harmon as NCIS Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs | Cory Osborne/CBS via Getty Images

NCIS (Naval Criminal Investigative Service) is a CBS primetime drama that has been on air since 2003. The series was introduced as a backdoor pilot of the popular series JAG.

NCIS follows former Marine gunnery sergeant NCIS Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs (Mark Harmon) and his team of special agents stationed in Washington, D.C. As a team, they track down high-profile criminals and solve crimes involving the Navy or Marine Corps. The highly-rated crime drama has been nominated for three Emmys. 

In 2009, NCIS: Los Angeles made its debut as a spinoff series starring LL Cool J and Chris O’Donnell, followed by a second spinoff, NCIS: New Orleans, in 2014. The latter concluded in 2021 after seven seasons. The franchise will welcome its third spinoff, NCIS: Hawai’i, in 2021 starring Vanessa Lachey. 

  • TV Genres: American, Action, Drama, Police Procedural
  • Where to Watch NCIS: U.S.-based viewers can watch the show on CBS via Fubo.TV or Paramount Plus. Season 1 through Season 15 are available on Netflix.
  • Current NCIS Cast: Mark Harmon, Sean Murray, Wilmer Valderrama, Brian Dietzen, Diona Reasonover, Rocky Carroll, and David McCallum
  • NCIS Spinoffs: NCIS: Los Angeles (2009-current); NCIS: New Orleans (2014- 2021); NCIS: Hawai’i (2021-current)

Visit the NCIS and Paramount Plus websites

Read the latest articles about NCIS

Read About: NCIS: Los Angeles
Read About: NCIS: New Orleans