An Emmy Awards statuette in Los Angeles, California, on September 16, 2021
Emmy statuette | Valerie Macon/AFP via Getty Images

The Emmy Awards are presented annually to recognize excellence in the TV industry and emerging media. Three sister organizations administer the awards: the Television Academy, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, and the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Several Emmy events happen throughout the year, including Daytime, Primetime, Sports, News & Documentary, Technology & Engineering, and College TV.

Winners receive a golden Emmy statuette — a winged woman holding an atom. TV engineer Louis McManus designed the trophy, modeled after his wife. The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences selected his design in 1948 after reviewing and rejecting 47 other submissions.

The Emmy Awards are one of the four major entertainment honors in the United States. The others are the Academy Awards, Grammys, and Tonys. People who have won all four are called “EGOTs,” an acronym representing each award. As of 2021, 16 actors, composers, directors, and producers have reached EGOT status.

Featured Articles:

Emmys 2021: The 3 Most Awkward Moments You Missed During the Show

Seth Rogen Calls Out the Emmy Awards for Lack of COVID Safety Measures: ‘I Would Not Have Come to This’

RuPaul Makes Emmys History for Most Wins by a Black Artist

Emmy Awards: 10 Married Couples Who’ve Both Won Emmys

Visit the Emmy Awards website.

Read more about the Emmy Awards, including winners, nominees, and memorable moments:

Latest News