The Star Trek cast on the set of the TV series in 1966
‘Star Trek’ cast in 1966 | Sunset Boulevard/Corbis via Getty Images)

Star Trek is an American sci-fi media franchise that started as a TV series and expanded into films, video games, comic books, and novels. The franchise was created by Gene Roddenberry.

Star Trek started as a TV show in 1966 on NBC that aired for three seasons. It told the tales of the crew of the starship USS Enterprise as it completes its five-year mission in space in the 23rd century. The mission: “To seek out new life and new civilizations, to boldly go where no man has gone before.”

The captain of the USS Enterprise was originally portrayed by William Shatner in the TV series and later Chris Pine in the films. Spock was portrayed by actor Leonard Nimoy in the show and later Zachary Quinto in the films.

  • Genres: Science Fiction
  • Network: CBS
  • Creator: Gene Roddenberry
  • Original Cast: William Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, Nichelle Nichols, George Takei, James Doohan, DeForest Kelley
  • Spin-Offs: Star Trek: The Next Generation (1987–94), Star Trek: Deep Space Nine (1993–99), Star Trek: Voyager (1995–2001), Star Trek: Enterprise (2001–05), and Star Trek: Picard (2020–current )

Featured Articles:

‘Star Trek’ Characters Who Would Be Friends if They Met

‘Star Trek’: 5 Characters The Franchise Needs to Bring Back

‘Star Trek’: What’s the Status of Upcoming Shows, Movies, and Events?

‘Star Trek’ Star Ricardo Montalban’s Appearance in ‘Wrath of Khan’ Prompted This Question From Fans for Decades

Read more about what’s in store for Star Trek.

Latest News