'Wheel of Fortune' host Pat Sajak. (Ricky Middlesworth/ABC via Getty Images)

Wheel of Fortune is an American game show TV series created by Merv Griffin. It’s a word puzzle competition during which contestants spin a giant wheel to win cash and prizes if they can correctly guess letters and solve the puzzle.

Originally, Wheel of Fortune was a daytime NBC series (hosted by Chuck Woolery and Susan Stafford) that aired from January 1975, through June 1989. It switched to CBS for about three years before returning again to NBC in January 1991 — until it was canceled that September.

The daily syndicated show that viewers know and love today premiered on Sept. 19, 1983, with Pat Sajak and Vanna White as co-hosts; they still host the ABC game show to this day.

  • Genres: Gameshow
  • Premiere Date: Jan. 6, 1975
  • Hosts: Pat Sajak, Vanna White
  • Where to Watch: ABC

Read the latest articles about Wheel of Fortune!

Read About: ABC
Read About: Big Brother